rubber tit

First of all, I would like to say that I was completely impressed by the performance. I usually avoid going to shows of this type and I am not really into the performing arts scene. I’ve gone to a few performances in high school and was never really satisfied with them so that I went to today’s show with pretty low expectations. However, I really enjoyed both Tari Ito’s and MASA’s performance. At first, I didn’t know what to think but as it gained momentum I found Ito’s movements and MASA’s music to merge into a unique and powerful performance. I honestly can’t say what the social meaning or implications behind the rubber tit are and if I really think about it I’m sure that I can come up with a complex explanation. However, at the time I was completely swept away by just watching Ito. In answering one of the questions, she said that this performance was full of emotion for her and I felt that you could really see that on her face and her body language. MASA’s accompaniment was so flawless that I really thought it had been rehearsed before so that I was surprised when she said that most of it, if not all, was improv. MASA said that Ito was her music sheet and when I was watching the performance I kind of thought it was the other way around. It seemed to me that Ito was inspired by the music in her movements and facial expressions. But I guess the fact that I saw it in this way just shows how seamlessly the two acts flowed together.

-Liliana G

Leave a Reply

