Rubber Tit

I personally really enjoyed the Rubber Tit performance, and although my common complaint with performance art is that it gets too boring too quickly, this one managed to hold my attention and yet not drag on for too long.

I liked the interaction between music and sight, and I thought it was interesting how MASA was positioned outside of the audience, as if to signal that she should be only heard, and not looked at. This was, of course, not my natural reaction, and I found myself looking at her sometimes, and I wonder to what extent this was designed or not. Tari, however, when she was making noise in the beginning with the microphone, was something to be both looked at and heard, which I thought was interesting. I’m not sure how this relates to the questions of sexuality and out-of-the-closetness that the performance was about, but I thought it was an interesting take on the subjects of sight and hearing.

I also really liked how, at times, MASA’s sax would replicate the high-pitched tones of the machine the rubber tit. It seemed to acknowledge the performance on display and her own role within that performance, and seemed like a battle of the sounds between the two objects (the machine and the saxophone).

-Julian H

Leave a Reply

