rubber tit…

Wow, I barely know what to say. I’ve never seen a performance like that before. The message I gleaned (and I may be way off!) was one about the confinement of female sexuality (the box thing); then I thought the performance strove to condone active female sexuality and also lesbian sexuality. I appreciated this: society often corners women into a passive sexual role, so it’s good to see someone believes in female sexual desire. So to me, the message was very positive. Did I like the it was conveyed? That’s a different question, I think. To watch a person playing with a giant model of a female body part in what probably symbolized sexual exploration and gratification…that was weird for me. I was trying to decide whether this dehumanized sex and objectified the object of sexual lust–her sexual object, after all, was not a person with a personality; it was a rubber blob. I’m not sure how I feel about that. I also tried to think about how it would’ve been received if she used a giant rubber phallic sympol instead. Not well, I think; I think that would’ve freaked people out. Maybe active female sexuality is acceptable in a lesbian dynamic, but perhaps people would have been more offended if tihs behavior crossed over into a heterosexual dynamic. I don’t know though, I’m just speculating! Overall, definetly an interesting, thought provoking performance.

-Sara J

Leave a Reply

