Globalization of Pop Culture

I was really interested in what Beryl was saying about pop culture from Japan and America blending together. He did not see it negatively, and more important, he saw it as inevitable. I think on some level it is inevitable that when a person from one culture experiences another culture, they approach the new culture with a dominant cultural perspective; in interviews that I conducted for my final project, one interviewee called it a “lens.” I think there is definitly value in attempting to eschew these lenses, though, inevitable as they may be. It’s valuable, I think, to attempt to experience new cultures as authentically as possible. I guess what I think is that authenticity should be strived for despite the inevitability of globalization, with tons and tons of qualifications and exceptions to that rule, of course!

Leave a Reply

