Rubber Tit

My first thought was why the performance had it’s name “Rubber Tit” and why she chose the word “tit” rather than breast or boob or any other word. I eventually realized the point she was trying to make was that this word was perhaps one of the more common or universal which is in line with the idea of using a breast in her art because of its universality. I was a bit confused as the performance began but then I found myself being more and more entertained as it went on because of the interaction with the crowd as well as Tari’s impressive control/mastery over her own bodily control. I thought at first that her movements were completely random but then I saw that there certainly was order to them and that they somehow accompanied both the actions of the tit and Masa on the Saxophone. I thought that the notion of identification that we discussed today was certainly an important one because the performance was indeed rather interactive and as such, each audience member would have his or her own unique response to what was being performed. Everyone can recognize the object in front of them, yet I felt certain that each one of us had different thoughts about what we were seeing because of how Tari combined such a universal object with abstract art; it lends itself to a very personal understanding by each individual. At the end of the performance, I was more apt to understand what she was trying to accomplish because I was able to read the program and get a better understanding of her background which I think plays a huge part in her art.

On another note, I would like to applaud both Tari and Masa for their bravery and talents and for sharing these with us at the University of Chicago. I do hope one day that people need not fear or be ashamed of who they are because of the ancient and traditional values society has in place, yet has not taken the time to re-evaluate. I wish them both the best in their future.

The above was typed by me right after the play and I just want to add now that having sat through the entire course, I can understand a bit more what they were trying to do.  We have looked at such a range of topics and issues that many would deem too controversial to even bring up making our class go far beyond popular culture in Japan and I think that Tari and MASA have truly come far in their lives to be where they are right now.  I want to say that I wish I could view the performance again now at the end of the quarter and write a new response and compare it to the one above to see just how differently I interpreted and understood the performance after completing the course.  I think I would have been able to appreciate it much more and wish there were more performances that I could possibly attend in the future.  I wish them both the best.

Alan

3 Responses to Rubber Tit

  1. tiffanysays says:

    I remember the rubberTIT performance so well… sean and i were so scared that the tit would pop!

  2. tybeatholla says:

    I was exactly looking for something like that. Do you feel a vested interest in my slimy inability I have a good fresh joke for you! What do you call a bee born in May? A Maybe.

  3. ceasciday says:

    Hello. It is test.

Leave a Reply

