Tit for Tat?

 I made this post on the chalk discussion board in response to Tari & MASA’s Rubber Tit performance:


There are a number of things that I found interesting that have already been pointed out by others, so I’m just going to point this out, to save some repetition.

There was a point in the performance that I found myself not knowing if I “should” be looking: I think this was when the tit was in front of the screen, and Tari-san was distanced from it, facing it, and beginning to shake (feel things come from the ground? I think this is what she seemed to be describing in the question and answer session). However, part of her lower body was on the camera and projecting on the screen, and the shaking, out of context, seemed almost too intimate for me to watch (the angle created an extremely voyeuristic feel), and the same time seemed to objectify her (but perhaps I am still not as comfortable with human bodies in certain contexts than I think…). On one hand, I felt that if it was intentional, ignoring it would be ignoring a part of the piece–but on the other hand, by social standards, I felt that looking was “shameful,” which is perhaps something that I shouldn’t be taking into a performance space. =/  So I was wondering how intentional this was, if at all, and if it was intentional, what she intended it to mean.

I later got to ask Tari about this in class, and found out that it was unintentional. Sort of anticlimactic, isn’t it? It seems that my reaction to this performance revealed more about myself than anything, which is  what art can do sometimes, especially performance art, I think.

And as another note, I was thinking earlier that the title “Rubber Tit” seemed to be something that only refered to the “Tari” part of the performance, and then I realized that maybe “Rubber Tit” could refer to MASA as well–as perhaps, an unconventional tit (bird), making these kinds of “rubber” noises at points…

Leave a Reply

